Disagreeables

There are all types of disagreeable people:

There are the “Not Necessarily’s”. If you say, “The sky is blue,” they will reply, “Not necessarily. In the east there is some light orange. And at nighttime it turns purple and black. We can’t really know anything for certain.”

There are the “Technicals.” If you say, “The sky is blue,” they reply, “Well, technically, the sun’s rays are the diffusion by earth’s atmospheric gasses when the rays (which really aren’t rays but particles that move like waves) enter the ionosphere, the shortest of which being blue are dispersed more dominantly. Everything makes perfect sense in my small logic-world.”

There are the “Guilt-Manipulators.” If you say, “The sky is blue,” they reply, “How could you be so hurtful and insensitive of my colorblindness? I cannot see blue, but you live with the sight-privilege of never having to think about the colorblind community and prismatic minorities. I never would have expected you to say such a thing. I am so disappointed. Please suffer with me by gouging out one of your eyes.”

There are the “Unity Unhelpfuls.” If you say, “The sky is blue,” they reply, “Bro, that’s unhelpful and divisive. Just because you enjoy looking at the sky doesn’t mean everyone does or even should. This sort of partisan atmosphere-centrism is what divides society.”

There are the “Lazy Researchers.” If you say, “The sky is blue,” they reply, “Hmm… I don’t know if I agree with what you’re saying. Could you link me to easily digestible summaries of complex research so that I don’t have to really understand your argument?”

There are the “Touch-n-Goes” or the “With All Due Respects.” If you say, “The sky is blue,” they reply, “I’m not looking for an argument but with all due respect, anyone who holds that the sky is blue is immoral, subhuman, of questionable lineage, and should be ashamed of himself for disgracing the earth. But I’m not saying you can’t believe the sky is blue. You can think whatever you want. Also, I’m not looking for an argument. Have a nice day.”

There are more. I’ll catalogue them as time permits.

Leave a Reply

